More on Methylparaben

After doing a little more investigative Googling on methylparaben, a controversial ingredient that’s virtually in all anti-aging skincare products, I’m torn. Prevention.com recently cited a study published in the Journal of Investigative Dermatology that links methyparaben to hindering collagen production. It accelerates aging. Wtf?!

g-1146But it’s in everything. It was in the Farm Stay sheet mask that I just reviewed (and downgraded because of it). It’s even in my new skincare line from Japan. I’m still sampling it, but I may already love it because it’s so gentle and it works. It’s close to impossible to find a line that’s fragrance and alcohol-free without selling my kidneys. But even the über expensive brands have it. It’s. in. everything!

Do I avoid it? Do you? Is it even worth avoiding? I did continue to use the Farm Stay sheet masks regardless … My logic is simple: 1) I’m cheap 2) harmful levels of questionable substances are usually found in extremely high quantities that are impossible to obtain through normal use of everyday products and 3) even vegetables are considered harmful in extreme doses.

To answer my own question: I’ll continue to be aware of it, but I don’t think I’ll stop my search for skincare products just because it’s in so many of the lines I’m interested in. Will it stop me from buying or continuing to buy those products? Maybe. But I do know that it’s way too soon to end this diary – I just started! However, as a person that hasn’t been into products until just recently, I’m a little disheartened. The products I seek out are already geared for sensitive skin, without most of the harsh ingredients. It feels like there’s always something else to consider, but I suppose that’s just the reality.

Spiel on companies: The increase in consumer awareness has now reached a point in which companies are aware of the heightened demands for superior products – in fact, they promote it by touting healthier ingredients and eco-friendly practices. This means they should also be adaptive to recent discoveries of less then beneficial ingredients because they have to. Parabens have been in the spotlight for a long time now and it’s a damn shame to see that it’s still in the ingredient lists of many skincare products.

If you’re reading this for the first time, I have to mention that this is an edited version of my original post. I originally resigned to ignoring the trace amounts of methylparaben. I even mentioned how some sites lists it as beneficial since it poses a low risk of skin irritation through cosmetics, even in paraben-sensitive individuals. I even changed my Farm Stay’s sheet masks review to 3 out of 5 stars (and not 2.5) because I figured I should give it credit for its moisturizing effects and not irritating my skin.

But I couldn’t live with that conclusion. I may finish off the products that have it, but it doesn’t mean I’ll continue buying it. And even if I do buy products with it, I’ll continue to search for better alternatives. After reassessing my skincare needs, I realized that not only do I want products that does what they say they’ll do, but I want them to contain ingredients that are good for me. This realization means that finding products that are compatible with my skin type could essentially mean a balancing act of using moisturizers that help more then hurt. But that’s the beauty of it, because there’s always newer and better products waiting to be discovered.  tiny_heart_emoticon_by_gasara-d79d7v1

sclingerman-timestandstill-swirl

Leave a Reply

